Advise on training someone new to Networking/Cisco

Hi Rene et al

My name is Simon I have been working with Cisco for over 15 years, former CCNP and oversee Cisco WAN/LAN network consisting of nearly 200 devices. My boss has asked me to setup a 2 year training plan for a guy who works in 1st line support who wants to get into Networking/Cisco devices. I’m just thinking of what would be a best way to draw out a 2 year plan for this guy (he knows very little on networking and Cisco) would it be a case of getting him on the CCNA training route using the material on this site and later give him some hands on experience (either setting up a small lab or get him on GNS) your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

Hello Simon,

Couple of things to think about:

I would get a real physical lab. My experience is that people that are completely new to networking really enjoy the hardware since it helps to visualize things. Some people have never seen a router or switch before so if you start with GNS3 or VIRL, they don’t have any context…they just see some console screens.

Even a cheap lab with 3x 2950 and 2x 2800 routers will be great:

You can practice pretty much everything. For those that worked with Cisco before, virtual labs are great (GNS3 / VIRL).

Also, make him start with CCNA R&S. It covers the basic networking theory with stuff like the OSI model, TCP, UDP, IP, IPv6 and everything he practices will be on Cisco gear.