Hi there! I am Alfred from Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

I am Alfred Dah, a system engineer in an american agency.
I am working in Ouagadoudou Burkina Fas, West Africa.
I have 16 Years experience in Networking. I am studying now for CISSP, CISA and dual CCIE (R&S and Security). That is my objective in 2019 !
As background, I am a A+ and MCP since 2002. Now I am CCNA (R&S and Security) certified. I have a vaucher of CCDA and i am looking for study tool to sit for this exam as soon as possible. I am just testing NetworkLessons.com and after my 7 days, I will see if I can continue with you ? Hi to you all !
…

1 Like

Hello Alfred Dah,

Welcome on board! CCIE R&S + security is a big goal, quite some stuff to study :grin:

If you need any help, you know where to find us. Good luck studying!

Rene

Hi Rene,
I bought your 3 books and I am a little bit lost with a huge topics to master.
I read carrefully your advices to master these topics but i need more guidance about Xmind Zen use.
I started with the switching section. Do you sample topics to share with me ?
Thanks

Hello Alfred Dah,

There is a lot of stuff to learn so it can be overwhelming in the beginning.

Did you see this post?

I’ll take a look at Xmind Zen, I’m familiar with Xmind 8 but Zen seems to be new(er).

Whatever tool you use (mindmapping or an outliner), here’s what I would do:

1. Write down all main topics. You can use the chapters of the book or the main units in the courses I have here on networklessons.
  2. When you go through a chapter, write down the sub-topics.
  3. For each sub-topic, write down the things you learn in your own words.
  4. Once you finish a chapter, re-order the things you wrote down so it makes sense to you.

Here is a quick example:

• Switching
    • VLANs
      • By default, there is 1 VLAN so all switchports can communicate with each other.
      • With VLANs, we can create a “logical” separation.
      • Switchports in the same VLAN can communicate with each other.