Jon from USA - studying for ccnp route

Hi Everyone,

I should be a good case study for networklessons.

I’ve been preparing for ccnp route for about 7-8 months now.

I’ve been through Cisco partner training for 1 week in a virtual class, watched all of the np route ine videos, watched all of the cbt nuggets np route videos, read the official cert guide several times, read another book from Amazon.com (author with last name of Bryant), completed the Ocg lab book, as well as went through labs on cbt nuggets. Probably done one or two other things that I’m forgetting.

Yes I know, I should be more than prepared for the exam right?

Well, I don’t feel like I am.

I took several practice transcender exams (through cbtnuggets), and while I didn’t fail horribly, I didn’t pass either.

I jotted down the topics from the practice exams that I didn’t feel too good about and starting googling all of those topics to try and find clear and concise information on each topic that I could study up on to refresh myself on what I learned months ago but had somehow forgotten. Alot of the little detail pieces of natting and various other topics other than the big 3 routing protocols had slipped through the cracks.

My problem with doing this is I have ended up with hours and hours of youtube videos or Cisco white papers that are several pages long to study. I feel like the studying will never end for this exam, because like all Cisco exams, you never know what they are going to ask, or what source they are going to use to get the question, it feels pretty hopeless.

So, last week while trying to find documentation for some of these topics, I stumbled on networklessons, and I found that alot of the more specific information I had seen in the practice exams was on here.