New Member: Daniel Woititz from the USA

Good day!

My name is Daniel and I’m 44. I worked in the IT department of a banking company about 20 years ago. I earned the Microsoft Certified Professional certification at this time and worked on many different technologies in the company. I left this job to work in a different industry. I’ve always stayed involved with computers even though my jobs weren’t IT jobs (ie built lots of PCs, worked with many applications, databases, light networking, etc.). My deep understanding of computers led to success with all of my jobs.

Now I work in China and will be returning to my home, the USA, in a year from now. My goal is to be well prepared to begin my career in the Networking field as soon as I arrive.

I’ve been acquiring Cisco certifications for the last 3 years. I currently have the CCNP R&S and CCNA Security. I was advised to get 1) CCNP R&S 2) CCNP Security or CCNP Datacenter 3) a VMWare certification. I began doing this when I was advised to go for CCIE R&S. I decided to pursue the CCIE R&S and plan to acquire this cert within a year. Experience with Cisco VIRL, GNS3, Packet Tracer and soon will try EVE-NG. Some real equipment too.

I’m very interested on feedback on my plan. I’m also very interested in different career paths to I can see what path would be the best for me. Independent Consulting seems to interest me the most as a goal.

I’m really a Cisco kind of geek. It’s intriguing to me to ponder how pictures, etc. get converted to voltage and light and then get reassembled in a different place.