New Member, Designing a WISP!

Hello all!
I am a new (actually returning after a few years hiatus) member of NetworkLessons! I used this site way back in the beginning of my networking days to get a better grasp of key protocols, designs, etc.

Now, as a more seasoned Senior Network Engineer I’m turning to NetworkLessons once again for knowledge, ideas and a reference for designing my own WISP!

A previous coworker and I are looking to service a rural area of a northeast state that has few options for ISPs and many only have the price-gauging DSL for an Internet option. Don’t get me wrong, DSL was a great service back in its day and is still a fairly reliable option for rural customers but streaming demands and ISPs taking advantage of their customers’ limited options has lead my friend and I to hopefully provide a new, fast and affordable option to these customers.

As a Senior Network Engineer I am familiar with designing and managing medium sized datacenters, LANs, connectivity over MPLS/SD-WAN, BGP/OSPF and routing in general, network access control, wireless deployments and more, but my experience stops at actually providing service to customers so I’m expecting (and fully believe) this site will give me the knowledge I need to make me confident enough to take the next step.

Not only is this a YASI (Yet Another Subscriber Introduction) but hopefully a foundation for communication among other’s who are interested in WISPs and/or have experience with WISPs.

Please feel free to share your thoughts, experience, questions in this area!

Welcome @timmothylaplante5,

Starting a WISP sounds like a cool project! It’s a lot of work too.

You’ll have the technology part but on the business side there is also a lot to take care of. Do you already have customers who might be interested?

There is quite some material online that explains everything you need to start a successful WISP.

Rene

1 Like