New Member from the Bronx, New York USA

My name is Ahmed Nuhu, a resident of New York, USA. I have been in the IT industry as a technician for about 10 years. I started as a computer technician. later I went to college for an associate degree in Computer Information Systems. After graduation from college, the job I got was a Point of Sales technician and was doing field repair works for a company. I knew that was not my goal. My goal is to become a network administrator or a network engineer. I studied for Cisco CCNA and CCNP, and now I have a job as a Data Center technician and I like it very much because on a daily bases I rack and stack Routers, switches, Firewalls, Servers and run the copper and fiber cables and I understand the topologies. The only down side is that we the layer one technicians don’t get to configure anything in the Data Center. My dream is to move up to become a network engineer or at least an administrator. My certifications have expired and that is why I have chosen to join Rene Molenaar to help me achieve my dreams. I like his style of teaching and he makes it very simple to understand the topics.
One major help I need is should I concentrate on just Cisco certifications or add other certifications like Microsoft to get a higher level as a network engineer?
Its hard to combine the two. Please advice… and thank you for listening to my long introduction.

1 Like

Hello Ahmed,

First of all, welcome! I hope you are doing OK in NY?

As a “layer one” technician, you do get to see/touch everything. For many students it’s the other way around. They learn technology with emulators or simulators but once they have their certification and look for a job, they haven’t touched any physical devices yet.

Here’s what I think about certifications:

• There are a LOT of people with CCNA (R&S / Enterprise)
  • There are also a lot of people with CCNP (R&S / Enterprise)
  • There are fewer people with CCNP (R&S / Enterprise) and another CCNP certification.