BGP PIC (Prefix Independent Convergence) Core & Edge

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

Great lesson, Rene!

I studied this from the Cisco documentation but they never explained in clear terms what was going on, but you managed it!

Small typo (should be 88.88.88.88/32?):

88.88.88.88/43 via 192.168.24.4 interface GigabitEthernet0/1

Also could you provide the configs for PIC edge, at the end?

===

Just came across this quote from Cisco:

PIC core ensures fast convergence for BGP routes when there is a link or node failure in the core that causes a change in the IGP reachability to a remote BGP next-hop address.

PIC edge ensures fast convergence to a BGP backup path when an external (eBGP) edge link or an external neighbor node fails.

In your example you use iBGP between PE’s for obvious reasons, so I’m a bit surprised they say PIC edge is for “external neighbours”?

Hello Chris

Thanks for pointing that out, I’ll let Rene know…

I’ll also let him know about the request for the configurations for PIC edge.

The Cisco comment is indeed correct. Even though iBGP is run between PEs in the network, it is still the routes that the PE routers connect to (other AS’s, namely external networks) that are involved in an edge link failing or an external neighbor node failing. You still have to find a route via another PE to the external route.

I hope this has been helpful!

Laz

Thanks Laz.

Still don’t really agree though - PIC edge is clearly addressing data plane convergence for IBGP neighbours in a service provider environment.

I just can’t see how that can be possible be called “external neighbours”, which implies the BGP neighbour operates in a different AS when in fact it doesn’t. The external customer may not even be running BGP!

Oh well!

Hi Chris,

If you still need them, I just added the configs for PIC edge.

I agree that this Cisco quote is a bit strange. PIC edge is really about fast failover to an edge router in your own network.

Rene