Designing a network to support 1000 end-devices

In advance, i apologise for the long post. I’ve been assigned the task of producing a logical design for a new network that must be capable of supporting 1000 machines. The network must provide 99.9% availability and thus i must take measures to ensure capability. There must be an internet connection and provision of a reliable service is necessary. The network must support the business for a further 5 years. I am given no architectural plans of the building but there is only one building and i’m assuming one floor. The previous network had servers running Windows server 2008 R1 with domain controller there also existed a web server. I don’t think i have to be concerned with specific hardware models/names.

I have no previous experience with designing networks and I have little knowledge in the field other than a few days worth of research on the internet. I am not confident in my ability to complete the task but it is critical that i do so.

I have concluded that a hierarchical design is most fitting and that redundancy throughout each layer is necessary to comply with availability requirements. Therefore i plan to make use of multiple service providers with a partial mesh topology connecting two layer 3 switches (in the distribution layer). Then, also with partial mesh, multiple stacks of layer 2 switches in the access layer and obviously the ~1000 end devices.