How to configure GRE Tunnel on Cisco IOS Router

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

1 Like

Good stuff Rene.

Next steps would be configuration for VRF-lite aware GRE tunnel with IPsec?

:slight_smile:

That would be a good idea. I’ll write something soon.

Thank you, very helpful!
i am going to read more from this website! :slight_smile:

Excellent ! I am new to Tunnelling stuff. Helped me to understand well. Thanks Rene :smiley:

Glad I could help Satish.

Great explanation Rene! I would be reading more IE stuff from your site!

Please keep the writing on.

Glad you like it Pradeep! I will keep on writing don’t worry :slight_smile:

Whats the point of having a loopback interface? Why are you not using loopback interface as the source for the GRE tunnel. Overall a great explanation, top hit on Google.

The point of the loopback interface is to have some networks that we can advertise in EIGRP.

You could use the loopback interface as the source for the tunnel but for this tutorial it’s not necessary because:

- The branch and HQ router would each require an additional static route so they can reach each others loopback interface.
- The branch and HQ router each only have a single connection to the ISP router. If they were connected to a second ISP it would be nice to use a loopback interface for GRE because you could create some redundancy, this means you would have to advertise the loopbacks in a routing protocol though.

*Jul 11 05:59:54.736: %DUAL-6-NBRINFO: EIGRP-IPv4 10: Neighbor 10.1.1.2 (Tunnel0) is blocked: not on common subnet (10.1.1.1/31)

You get this error when the two EIGRP neighbors are not in the same subnet. Check your IP addresses and subnet masks. In your example you are using a /31 subnet mask…

Good lesson Rene, one question though, this might be very noobie(well I am!!),