Introduction to Cisco IOS CLI (Command-Line Interface)

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

Hi from Paris,
I’m a Cisco beginner and I tried to modified password on Catalyst 2960S POE
After typing line console 0 I get CiscoPOE(config-line)# password Molenaar
so far so good
But then following your example I type
CiscoPOE(config-line)# login
I get % incomplete command.
Could you explain me why ?
What did I miss ?

Hello Francois

IOS routers use various AAA (Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting) models to implement passwords and other parameters. By default, Cisco IOS devices use an AAA model that allows passwords to simply be defined using the process that Rene describes, and that you have attempted to implement. However, there are other models as well.

If you look in your configuration, you will likely find the following command: aaa new-model. It is this command that is not allowing you to simply enter the command login above. This model requires an AAA database to function.

In order to fix this, type the following command in global configuration mode: no aaa new-model. This disables the “new model” and returns the device to its default AAA model. Then go back and configure the console with the above commands and it should work.

I hope this has been helpful!

Laz

Hello Laz,
Just great, the no aaa new-model worked fine.
After entering
CiscoPOE(config-line)# login
" no error, followed by"
CiscoPOE(config-line)#password Kosmos55+
“But I forgot to write mem and after Ctrl + Z and putty again”
Iogin as : network
" I get a new info"
network@ip's password: Kosmos55+
Access denied
What did I miss or what did I mess should i say ?

Hello Francois