Introduction to TCP and UDP

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

1 Like

Thank you for you videos! I know if I’m able to understand them then any/everybody should be able to understand because I have no computer background p. Question, I would like to checkout the wire shark but am not sure as to how it works. Suggestions? Thanks again for your help.

Hi Keith,

Glad to hear you like it! Before you try wireshark, I would advise to dive into the OSI-model first (if you haven’t done it yet). Using wireshark is a nice exercise to see all the layers of the OSI-model.

It’s best to download it and just give it a try:

https://www.wireshark.org/download.html

Make some captures when you try to visit a webpage or download something, see if you can recognize the TCP 3 way handshake and the different layers of the OSI-model.

If there’s anything in particular you want, let me know and I’ll create something ok?

Rene

Rene,

Excellent lesson!!! It’s so good read a lesson like this, because you make it be so simple!

Thanks and Abraço

Great lesson again! I like an application called tcpdump, which is like Wireshark but much less clunky. There is a little learning curve, but so much better for just watching traffic.

Thanks :slight_smile: Tcpdump is a great (linux) tool, it’s really useful for capturing traffic and you don’t need a GUI for it. It’s very useful when you SSH into a remote box and want to capture some stuff.

For analysis I prefer wireshark…you can capture with tcpdump and then look at it in wireshark.

Hi, Rene! Thanks for a good brief of TCP/UDP!

After reading I have one question, may be you can give me a simple explanation or send me to look something else on the web.

If I understand right, in simplified way, TCP sequence number grows up by window size, while sending data. When sequence number is over (32 bit max or 4Gb data), but data more than 4Gb - what will happen?

Hi Dmitriy,