Layer 2 and Layer 3 real world problem scenario and solution

I am new to networking, and I am just curious what are real world common and complex Layer 2 and Layer problem scenarios and what method did you approach to troubleshoot it ?
If any network engineering pro would like to share some stories from their experience would be highly appreciated ?

1 Like

Hello Krunal,

Welcome to the wonderful world of networking! As far as methods of troubleshooting go I use the bottom-up approach. I start at the bottom (physical layer) of the OSI model and work my way up.

Here are some of the things I look for at each layer
Layer 1

1. Do all devices involved have power and are turned on?
  2. Are all the cables connected properly?
  3. Are the proper cables being used? (Rare since we have auto-mdix)
  4. Are the cables good or bad? (Use a cable tester)

Layer 2

1. Verify ARP tables
  2. Verify I can ping a device on the same subnet
  3. Verify the device is in proper VLAN/subnet
  4. Check CAM table to see if the proper entries exist or to see what interface a host connects to
  5. Verify ACLs (if any exist)

Layer 3

1. Can I ping the device in question
    (this device would live on a different subnet since we are working at layer 3)
  2. Verify Dynamic routing protocols
  3. Is there a route in the routing table for the network in question?
  4. If so are there return routes back to the source?
  5. Verify ACLs
  6. Check for sub-optimal routing

This is not an extensive list and there is probably a ton of stuff I missed but this a Majority of what I look at when I am troubleshooting.