MPLS Layer 3 VPN PE-CE RIP

This topic is to discuss the following lesson::

Thanks for great lesson.
I’m quite new to Vpn l3. Could you explain about label stack of vpn packet when it travels from CE1 to PE1, then through isp , then out on PE2, then to CE2. Tks !!

For sure, it’s explained here:

MPLS Labels and Devices

Hi,

Thank you for the this great site.

Can we redistribute into OSPF instead of redistributing into BGP.

Thanks
Akram

Hi Akram,

Redistributing RIP into OSPF is no problem but you can’t use it for MPLS VPN. You need BGP since it has address families for VPN routes.

Rene

Hi Rene,
Very nice explanation. I have a general question: We are using IGP between PE-CE routers, Aren’t we only allowed to use e-BGP between different AS routers?

Hi Zeeshan,

In an MPLS PE-CE scenario, you can use IGPs or BGP. Even static routes are possible.

Rene

Hello Rene,

I have the lab for MPLS L3 VPN and RIP is my IGP.

I could see all the routes but not able to R5 loopback 0 from R1 with source address of loopback 0 and vice versa.

I could see the 5.0.0.0 routes on R1 and 1.0.0.0.0 routes on R5.

Please help me if I am missing something.

Hello mohammed

In order to be able to help you we’d need a little more information. Have you attempted connectivity between the Fa0/0 interfaces on CE1 and CE2? (I assume when you say R1 and R5 you mean CE1 and CE2). If that is not successful, you should check out the configurations on all your routers. If it is successful, check to make sure the Lo interfaces are participating in BGP.

I hope this has been helpful!

Laz

Hi Rene.
Will you please advise me how do I advertise loopback I/F of PE1 to CE1?
I have added

PE1(config)#router rip
PE1(config-router)#address-family ipv4 vrf CUSTOMER
PE1(config-router-af)#version 2
PE1(config-router-af)#no auto-summary 
PE1(config-router-af)#network 192.168.12.0
**PE1(config-router-af)#network 2.2.2.2**
and even
**PE1(config-router-af)#redistribute connnected**