Reflexive Access List

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

hi, great website ! i’m still learning basic guides cisco autodidact. i hope i can catch this section soon.

Thanks Rene…

This was a very helpful explanation to me. I´m a regular visitor of gns3vault.com and didn´t know about this one; congrats man you´re awesome!

Rene,

I have been working on access-lists and NAT on my little lab. I have a Cisco router connected to a D Link router that is in turn connected to a vonage router which in turn connects to a Cable mode - my gateway to the internet. I am able to ping the D Link IP address from the cisco router and also the internet. The D link using 192.168.0.0/24 subnet. I configured other subnets behind the cisco router. I managed to use NAT to be able to ping the D Link router but could never be able to ping anythin on the internet. All my other subnets behind the cisco router are NAT inside. The link between the D Link and the router as NAT outside.

What do I need to do to be able to ping beyond the D-Link Router? I can ping internet addresses from the Cisco router but nothing beyond the D-Link from anything behind the cisco router.

I worked with it so long until I started my working translations.

Thanks,

I have 1 question for you !
what different between Reflexive ACL, CBAC and Zone Base Access List ?

Good question, there are quite some differences.

The reflexive access-list can match on L2-L4 attributes, just like the normal extended access-list. It’s quite “dumb” since the only thing it does is track the outgoing traffic and creating an access-list entry automatically that reverses the source / destination IP and port numbers. This works for traffic like HTTP but not for applications with dynamic port numbers.

CBAC is a lot smarter, it can match up to L7 attributes and supports a wide range of protocols. The reflexive access-list and CBAC are both configured on the interface level.