VRF Lite Configuration on Cisco IOS

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

1 Like

Hi Rene,

Thank you for your efforts. I was waiting for VRF tutorial for a long time. You have explained this clearly. BTW, do you have plan to upload Inter-VRF routing with MP-BGP ? :slight_smile:

Hi Ronie,

You are welcome, glad you like it. I’ll add inter-VRF routing with MP-BGP / MPLS for sure :slight_smile:

Rene

René,

Congrats for share this excellent explanation!!! I’m from Brazil and I don’t have a good English, but I can understand each word, sentence that you used in this article. I never had understood about this subject, maybe because I really didn’t study it with attention and deeply. I’m a beginner Network Admin and when I saw this article in my feed I started to read it and understand it and I’m amazing how you can teach it like this way.

But I have a doubt where I can’t see in examples above. Using this topology, if tomorrow for any reason Blue and Red make a partnership and decide them share your resource between hosted at Blue1 and Red2. How could ISP route the traffic between them?Maybe this article contain the answer, but I can see it.

Again, Thanks for share your knowledge, keep it and go ahead!!!

P.S: Sorry for my English mistakes, but I’m not a native English speaker.

Hugs

Hi Gabriel,

I’m glad to hear that you like it! Your question is a good one. If you want to use “shared services” between VRFs then there are two solutions:

1. You can use MP-BGP to exchange routes between VRFs.
  2. Use EVN: https://networklessons.com/cisco/cisco-evn-easy-virtual-network/

I’ll create some examples for MP-BGP.

Rene

Rene,

Thanks your attention!!! I’ll study more about this concept.

Please, keep this excellent job!

Abraço

Glad to hear you like it!

I am eager to see ur article regarding this subject as well. :slight_smile:

Mauro.

Thanks for this Rene, a very detailed explanation. i also simulate this and it’s much easier to understand.