OSPFv3 for IPv4 Configuration

This topic is to discuss the following lesson:

Hello Rene,

Thanks for the good work here.
Hope you will cover some of v5 written topics for OSPF (3.6 f&g) soon.

Thanks Leo, if there’s anything you’d like to see just let me know or add your ideas here:

networklessons.com/member-ideas

Rene
Great explanation but I have question about ipv6. I am new to ipv6. Since we are dealing with ipv6 and ospfv3.what I understand from the lesson ospf v3 deals with ipv6. Don’t we need to configure ipv6 address on the interfaces. You have configured ipv4 address
Please let me know.

Thanks
Hamood

Hamood,
It used to be the case that OSPFv3 dealt exclusively with IPv6. The point of the lesson, however, is to show that this is no longer the case. OSPFv3 (via RFC 5838) now allows you to use it with both IPv4 and IPv6 via the concept of “address families.”

Hello
Could you help me know what exactly this command do ?

(config-if)#ospfv3 1 ipv4 area 0

Thank
Sovandara

Hello Heng

This command enables OSPFv3 on the interface. Specifically:

* 1 is the process ID
* IPv4 is the version of IP that you want to enable OSPF for. In this case it’s IPv4
* area 0 states that this interface is in area 0.

Note that OSPFv3 is configured on a port by port basis unlike OSPFv2 which is configured by stating the networks that will participate in OSPF with the network commands.

Remember that OSPFv3 supports IPv6 but it is also compatible with IPv4. The above command implement OSPFv3 on an IPv4 network segment.

You can find out more about this command at this Cisco command reference document.

I hope this has been helpful!

Laz

There is a typo on the topology diagram. Both interfaces have IP addresses of 192.168.12.2. It leads to this error message on both routers:

*Nov 9 17:15:19.472: %OSPFv3-4-DUP_RTRID_NBR: OSPFv3-1-IPv4 detected duplicate router-id 192.168.12.2 from FE80::5200:FF:FE02:3 on interface GigabitEthernet0/3